S.F. Giants 30-39

My last post was on June 1st and I wrote that I had been on a bit of a baseball hiatus. I believe that was the last time I really even thought about baseball. I’m now a proud papa. My son was born on June 6th and I haven’t paid attention to anything else sense. I briefly thought about posting some pictures of my boy, but something just seemed weird about it. So, sorry no pics.

I briefly considered just canceling my subscription and shutting this blog down, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to update it more frequently. Of course, everyone laughs when I talk about getting back to the way I used to do things. Anyway, the point of all this is that I will try to update as often as possible, but there may be long stretches that this blog is quiet.

Now, on to some baseball. I did manage to watch the Giants-Sox game on Sunday. Matt Morris has been a rock for this team all season, so it was a little surprising to see him get knocked around like that. A friend of mine said that Fenway is a tough park to pitch in, and I agree, but I think it had more to do with the Red Sox lineup. Ortiz and Manny are scary enough, you get a couple of other guys hitting in that lineup and the opposing pitcher doesn’t stand a chance. I think this series was an important one in that it illustrated just how far from being a good team the Giants are right now.

I have spent a great deal of the season trying to figure out how good this team actually is. It hasn’t been easy up until now. I always thought of the Giants as an average team and was a little surprised to find them 9 games below .500, in last place and 10.5 out in the division. My thinking was that we would be in that middle ground between buyers and sellers at the trade deadline. That doesn’t look like it’s going to be the case. We look like sellers. The question now is who do we have that anyone would want?

The only name I could come up with is Matt Morris. He has pitched well enough to show that he could help a team with a starting pitching need and the Giants may be able to get a good return for him. Everyone else on this team falls into either the category of shouldn’t be traded (Lincecum) or no one wants them (nearly everyone else). We’re in the last half of June, it’s not early anymore. If the Giants don’t turn this thing around real soon, we should run up the white flag and start looking toward the future. By trading as many of these geezers as we can. It would be much easier to sit through a bad year if I knew we were getting some young guys valuable playing time and working towards something. This season just feels like we’re treading water.

Try To Enjoy The Game.

One comment

  1. escalator@tds.net

    Bochy’s the problem – never the same line-up from game to game. Dump the idiot! And trade Benitez before this becomes the most embarrassing season ever for SF!

    Jman

Leave a Reply

