S.F. Giants 17-15

Not a pretty one for the Giants tonight. Bonds drilled one but that was the only offense this team could muster. Losing 4-1 to the Mets doesn’t upset me that much. The Mets are a strong team and I wasn’t expecting to sweep them. Plus, it’s easier to take a loss when both the Dodgers and San Diego get beat too. Although it would have been nice to make up a little ground on those guys.

What did concern me about the game tonight was the way Matt Cain got knocked around for the second start in a row. Matt is going to need to make some adjustments. Obviously, the book is out on him. He can’t locate his breaking pitches, so sit on the fast ball. After his first couple of starts this year I thought he was going to be a Cy Young candidate. Now it looks like he’s got some work to do before he gets there.

I’m gonna get to Schilling in a minute. Before I do though, one more note about tonight’s game. Who was the homeplate umpire? That guy was horrible. He would wait a full five seconds before calling a ball or strike. Very annoying.

Speaking of annoying. Curt Schilling decided to open his mouth today. Apparently, he did an interview on radio station WEEI and made some misinformed remarks about Barry Bonds. This guy seems to be more interested in running his mouth than pitching. Schilling talking about Bonds: "He admitted that he used steroids. There’s no gray area, he admitted cheating on his wife, cheating on taxes and cheating on the game."

Let’s look at these one by one:

1) "He admitted that he used steroids. There’s no gray area…"

I’m pretty sure that Bonds never admitted using steroids. I know that a couple of guys wrote a book saying that he did, but just cause it’s in a book doesn’t mean it’s true. If Bonds admitted to using steroids Bud Selig would have bounced him out of the game in the blink of an eye. This is just flat out not true. Schilling is completely ignorant and should either get his facts straight or, I don’t know, maybe shut up.

I also take exception to the notion that "There’s no gray area…" Yes, there is a gray area. Everything in life has a gray area. If it didn’t life would be very easy.

2) "He admitted cheating on his wife…"

I’m not sure this is true, but I could be wrong. I don’t follow Barry’s personal life. Let’s assume he did, just for the sake of argument. Who cares? I know for a fact that he isn’t the first major league ballplayer to cheat on his wife and I also know for a fact that he’s not the last. The last thing I know for a fact, I don’t care! It has nothing to do with baseball. Maybe it means that Bonds isn’t such a nice guy, but we all knew that anyway.

3) "…cheating on his taxes…"

Again, just not true. I believe this was also reported in Game of Shadows and he may have cheated on his taxes. A lot of people cheat on their taxes. Maybe Bonds did, maybe he didn’t. I don’t know. I do know that he never admitted it. At least not in any public forum. The IRS tends to frown on things like that. As a matter of fact, I believe they go after people like that, sometimes they even put them in jail. Obviously, again Schilling is wrong on this point. Do we notice a trend here?

4) "…and cheating on the game."

This ties in with number one. I assume this means he took steroids. Again, I don’t debate weather he took them or not. No one really 100 percent knows that, except for Barry Bonds. What we all do know is that no one can prove that he did. Oh, and also that he never admitted that he took them.

I find it interesting that Schilling attacks Bonds just after David Ortiz had some supportive things to say about Barry. I don’t remember exactly what Big Papi said regarding Bonds, but I know that the gist of it was that Ortiz is rooting for Bonds and he doesn’t believe Barry took steroids. Now that I think about it, I find it interesting that what Schilling said is grabbing tons of press and what Ortiz said was basically a side note that was hardly mentioned.

To wrap things up, Curt Schilling is a *****. Unless he wants to fess up about his painted sock, he should just keep his mouth shut.

Enjoy the game.

3 comments

  1. Aubrey

    Thanks for the comment. I am glad someone else agrees with me about Schilling. There is no reason for him to make comments like that, especially about Barry’s wife. That was way out of line. When I was first listening to it I thought I heard wrong, I couldnt believe he said that. Oh and nice comment about him painting his sock. I believed it when I read about it, it just seemed like something Schilling might do.

  2. SomeBallyard

    Bonds did not admit to taking steroids. He admitted to using substances given to him by his trainer, which he believed were innocent. Actually, as you note, everything Schilling said was slander. Or is that just in print?

    Michael Norton – Some Ballyard

    http://mlblog.someballyard.com

  3. bill@taxmanea.net

    Boycott anything Marc Ecko sells! Shilling is a self-righteous know-nothing. What is wrong with people, so mean, so infantile. I really feel for Barry. The way he has taken the high road in spite of all that has gone on around him is remarkable and admirable. I’m sorry he won’t be on the team next year.

Leave a Reply

